Fractured

14 Aug

I look in the mirror and all I see are everyone’s reflections around me
Drowned out by all the hands grabbing at me
Only concerned with what they need me to give
Ignoring my painful sobbing and tears
When will it be enough just how much more do I have to sacrifice for you
Giving and giving with no love in return
Just an empty vessel drowning in the tears from the lessons I’ve learned
My heart my soul they burn and singe with pain I can’t begin to explain
Feeling tormented in my head in a world feeling all alone
No one to call on when it all falls down
So there’s no choice but to stay strong
Can’t let my pieces shatter because there’s no one to put me back when they do
I’m  fractured on the verge of a break

One Response to “Fractured”

  1. slpmartin August 14, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    It is strange …your poem reminded me of Hans Selye’s statement about one of the causes of stress as being ‘too altruistic’…giving but never recieving….thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

