Realization

22 Jun

I wish I would of noticed
the way that you looked at me
then maybe it wouldn’t of been so hard to see
that you’d leave me in such a desolate place
fighting to not be erased

Put my stamp on the world and now your erasing it
should of went all in stead of pacing it
I don’t know how though
I was taught to hold on
Never prepared to let go

When did we become a simulation
Pretending that we were in love for our own selfish needs
Who would of thought the secrets you kept would cut so deep
Is it really my fault you fell out of love with me
Or were we just going through the motions heading towards an inevitable end
Or am I just trying to pretend that it was you and not me who caused our end

Threw tiny pebbles consistently at the crack in the glass
Thinking we were strong enough to make it last
I was always so much harder then you
Should have known that hole I caused would of eventually grew

Now I’m here fighting all alone trying to patch the path of destruction we left behind
With a hole that will continue to grow over time
Never thought id really be without you
Now that I am I find myself so confused
Should of learned my lesson before I lost you

4 Responses to “Realization”

  1. shaguftaabbas June 22, 2010 at 5:11 am #

    lovely poem! and i hope you get over this painful phase soon..

    • Adrienne June 22, 2010 at 5:27 am #

      Thank you very much, I am however in no pain :^)

  2. shaguftaabbas June 22, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    aah thank God, glad to know that! 😀

  3. weekdaypoet June 28, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Aww… the last lines left me so desolate. Sigh. Love is so necessary and because of that it hurts us so much when we fumble and can’t make it come out the way we know it’s meant to.

    Really, really like the throwing pebbles at the glass stanza. That was a great image.

Leave a Reply

